East Rail (Last modified 2005-Jan-07, Rev. 00)



East Rail is the Kowloon-Canton mainline from Hung Hom (Kowloon) to the border of the New Territories and Guangdong at Lo Wu and Shenzhen.

The railway line is electrified at 25 kv ac 50 hz and the traffic is mixed.

The passenger (suburban service) stations from Hung Hom (Kowloon) to Lo Wu are:

  1. Hung Hom [2407]
  2. Mong Kok [2405]
  3. Kowloon Tong [2403] (Also station for MTR Kwun Tong Line)
  4. Tai Wai [2399] (new suburban line to Lee On connects here)
  5. Sha Tin [2397]
  6. Fo Tan [2395] (The Ho Tung Lau Rolling Stock Maintenance Centre is here)
  7. University [2392]
  8. Tai Po Market [2385]
  9. Tai Wo [2384]
10. Fanling [2379]
11. Sheung Shui [2377]
12. Lo Wu [2373]

1. Numbers in [brackets] indicated distance in kilometers from Beijing as shown in the
    China Railway Atlas, Second Edition, Quail Map Company. ISBN 1-898319-35-9.
2. Kowloon Tong, the south portal of the Beacon Hill Tunnel can be photographed from this station.


Kowloon Canton Railway Company - East Rail


Page Revision History:

2005-Jan-07, Rev.00: Initial release.